Fraudulent NSF Check Laws By State

Alabama – Greater of $10 or actual bank charges

Alaska – $100 or triple the amount of the check, whichever is greater, not to exceed the amount of the check by more than $1000.

Arkansas – twice the amount of the check, but in no case less than $50. Plus interest, court cost and reasonable attorney’s fee. California up to three times the amount of the check, up to $1,500.

Colorado – face value of the check plus service charge of not more than $20.

Connecticut – face value of the check plus lessor of: if no bank account – $750 or the amount of the check; or if insufficient funds – $400 or the amount of the check.

Delaware – $100, or three times the amount of the check not to exceed $500

District of Columbia – none

Florida – Minimum of $50, in addition to the amount of the check or three times the amount owing, plus court and attorney fees.

Georgia – Double the amount of the check not to exceed $500, plus court cost.

Hawaii – $100, or triple the amount of the check, whichever is greater, not to exceed $500.

Idaho - $100, or triple the amount of the check, whichever is greater, not to exceed $500.

Illinois - $100, or triple the amount of the check, whichever is greater, not to exceed $1,500, plus attorney and court cost.

Indiana – Triple the face amount of the check, not to exceed $500.

Iowa – Triple the face amount of the check, not to exceed $500.

Kansas - $100, or three times the amount of the check, but not to exceed $500., plus court and attorney fees.

Kentucky – none

Louisiana – Minimum of $100., or twice the amount of the check plus attorney’s fees and court costs.

Maine – Amount of check, plus court costs, service costs, and processing charges incurred by the holder.

Maryland – An amount up to double the amount of the check, but not more than $1000.

Michigan – Double the amount of the check, with a minimum of $50. And maximum of $500., plus court costs up to $250.

Minnesota – Up to $100 or up to 100% of the value of the check, whichever is greater. Interest at the rate payable on judgments and reasonable attorney fees.

Mississippi – Varies by face amount of check: Up to $25 – 100% of the check amount; from $25 – $200.
50% of the amount of the check and over $200. 25% of the check amount.

Missouri – Triple the amount of the check or $100., whichever is greater.

Montana – An amount equal to the service charge plus the greater of $100. Or three times the amount of the check, but not to exceed the amount of the check by more than $500.

Nebraska - $10. Plus any reasonable handling fee imposed upon the holder by the bank.

Nevada – Three times the amount of the check, but not less than $100. Nor more than $500.

New Hampshire – Court costs, service costs, and collection costs. If judgment obtained and not paid on judgment date, $10. Per business day up to $500., plus reasonable attorney’s fees.

New Jersey - $100., or triple the amount of check, whichever is greater, not to exceed to $500. more than the amount of the check, plus attorneys’, court and mailing fees.

New Mexico - $100., or triple the check amount up to a limit of $500.

New York – If reason for bad check is no existing bank account damages can be twice the face amount of the check or $750., whichever is less. If reason for bad check is NSF, damages can be twice amount of the check or $400., whichever is less. Notice must be posted at point of sale.

North Carolina – Triple the amount of the check, with a minimum of $100 and maximum of $500.

North Dakota – The lesser of $100., or three time the amount of the check.

Ohio - $200. Or three times the amount of the check.

Oklahoma – An amount not to exceed $5,000.

Oregon - $100, or triple the amount of the check not to exceed $500., plus reasonable attorney’s fees.

Pennsylvania - $100., or triple the amount of the check not to exceed $500.

Rhode Island – An amount equal to three times the amount of the check, but in no case less than $200.
But no more than $1000.

South Carolina – Triple the amount of the check or $500. Whichever is less.

South Dakota – All reasonable costs and expenses of collection.

Tennessee – Triple the face amount of the check, not to exceed $500. In addition, interest at the rate of 10% per annum; service charges; court costs and reasonable attorney’s fee.

Texas – None.

Utah – Interest; all costs of collection, including court and attorney’s fees equal to the greater of $100.
Or three times the check amount, not to exceed $500.

Vermont – Court and service costs, the amount of the check, bank fees, interest, attorney’s fees and damages in the amount of $50.

Virginia – Three times the amount of the check, up to a maximum of $250. In addition to the amount of the check, legal interest from the date of check, service fee and processing fee.

Washington – Reasonable attorney’s fees and three times the amount of the check or $300., whichever is less.

West Virginia - $500. Or the amount of the check whichever is less, plus reasonable costs.

Wisconsin – Three times the amount of the check, and all actual costs of legal action, including attorney’s fees. The total amount of the foregoing damages cannot exceed $500.

Wyoming – three times the amount of the check, but in no case less than $100. Plus costs of collection including reasonable attorney’s fees.